Local Students Take Top Honors at Annual MATHCOUNTS Competition

Area Middle School Mathletes Compete to Represent Ohio, West Virginia at State Competition at Belmont College

St. Clairsville, OH (February 23, 2024) — Local middle school students recently competed to test their math and problem-solving skills at the 2024 MATHCOUNTS competition. The event was held at Belmont College’s Academic Technical Center in St. Clairsville on Friday, February 16th.

More than 100 competitors from seven area schools participated in the event, including students from: Brooke Middle School coached by Jami Packer, Oak Glen Middle School coached by Velda Icard, Triadelphia Middle School coached by Scott Kangisser, and Warwood Middle School by Anne Vopal from West Virginia, as well as Ohio teams Buckeye Trail Middle School coached by Toni Gallow, Powhatan Elementary coached by Sheila Thomas, and River Elementary coached by Courtney Still.

MATHCOUNTS encourages students to put their math and analytical skills to work to solve real-world problems and scenarios in competition with their peers.

For more than 35 years, volunteers, educators, and industry sponsors have come together to make MATHCOUNTS possible for middle school students around the country. The event includes both individual and team competitions. Belmont College has hosted the math enrichment competition for more than 25 years.

Registered local winners proceed to state competitions, where the top four “mathletes” on the winning team and their coach compete to represent their state or region at the national level along with two top individuals. The Ohio State Competition is on March 16, 2024, at Columbus State Community College in Columbus Ohio and the West Virginia State Competition will be held on March 16, 2024, at Braxton County Middle School, Flatwoods, West Virginia.

Non-registered winners compete only for medallions at the local event. At all levels, MATHCOUNTS challenges students’ math skills, develops their self-confidence, and rewards them for their achievements.

Registered team awards for Ohio went to:

  • 1st Place Team – River Elementary Team A: Logan Brake; Elijah (Tucker) Hostutler; Katrinia Maibach; Landon Irdermuhle.  The River Elementary Team A gets to advance to the state competition.
  • 2nd Place Team – Powhatan Elementary Team A: Hunter Ogilbee; Sydney Gust; Kayley Schneider; Aryia Tolzda

Also, advancing to state as individuals are Ethan Hogan who was a non-school competitor and Ava Cola from Buckeye Trail Middle School.

Individual Ohio registered awards were earned by:

  • 1st place: Ethan Hogan Non-School Competitor
  • 2nd place: Katrina Maibach from River Elementary

Non-Registered team awards for Ohio went to:

  • 1st Place Team: Powhatan Elementary Team B: Dietrich Aanerud; Isaac Meadows; Isabella Weekley; Mikayla Hall
  • 2nd Place Team: – River Elementary Team B: Crestlyn Isaly; Cooper Roberts; Kasen Rothenbuhler; and Hunter Ruble.

 Non-Registered individual awards for Ohio went to:

  • 1st place Individual – Lane Stephen from Buckeye Trail Middle School.
  • 2nd place Individual – Isabella Weekley from Powhatan Elementary School.

Registered team awards for West Virginia went to:

  • 1st Place Team –Triadelphia Middle School Team A: Pelin Yu; Brenna Tipton; Jordan Mick; and Sebastien Molina.
  • 2nd Place Team – Brooke Middle School Team A: Derek Sperl; Andrew Mockbee; Paige Henderson; Audriana Roach

Both top teams advanced to the state competition.

Also, advancing to state as individuals are Jackson Phillips from Oak Glen Middle School, Bronson Pack from Brooke Middle School, Caroline Wack, and Levi Helms both from Triadelphia Middle School.

Individual West Virginia registered awards were earned by:

  • 1st Place Individual: Pelin Yu from Triadelphia Middle School
  • 2nd Place Individual: Derek Sperl from Brook Middle School

Non-Registered team awards for West Virginia went to:

  • 1st place – Triadelphia Middle School Team D: Landon Kelly; Jay Crutchfield; William Lui; Hudson Bradshaw
  • 2nd place – Brooke Middle School Team B: Sophia Tacozza; Connor Pack; Hazel Minda; Dominic Kuzma

Non-Registered individual awards for West Virginia went to

  • 1st Place Individual: Hudson Bradshaw from Triadelphia Middle School
  • 2nd Place Individual: Connor Pack from Brooke Middle School

# # # #

Ohio Registered Winners: River Elementary Team A
WV Registered Winners: Triadelphia Middle School Team A